February 12, 2008

Razzle Dazzle: Gray and Red

Posted in Inspiration Boards at 9:44 pm by Jess

I did not intend to make two inspiration boards this week, but E and A put up this board, which is gray and brown. It’s stunning. I had never considered gray and brown together. Never ever.

I have been waiting for people to catch on to gray for a long time. It is such an elegant color, when used correctly. It’s always been one of my favorite colors to wear. That said, I have never worn it with red.

I chose red because I had the image of gray pebbles in my head and I thought to myself, what colors would go with that? Suddenly I thought about red roses. Just as quickly I decided that would be awful. Pebbles are rustic. I could line the table-runner with them. I could spell the new couple’s last name in them. Roses, on the other hand – and red roses to boot – are supreme luxury and indulgence. Total opposites, it seemed. So, I went for it, simply because I like a challenge.

isb_gray-and-red.jpg

Photo: michelemwaite.com/blog, dress: fashioninc.org; pebbles: langstone.com; hair piece: Mikiye.etsy.com

room: theknot.com; drinks: 5ive15ifteen.com; car: paulrussell.com; photo: nuto.ca

roses:freedigitalphotos.net; shoe: piperlime.com; bracelet: Mikiye.etsy.com

5 Comments »

  1. Love it!

  2. absolutely lovely! can we post it on our readers’ boards post later this week?

  3. and PS – we *heart* your blog and we added you to our blog love page!

  4. […] Sourced here […]

  5. I love this! Thanks for emailing me with your board. I just reposted in on Perfect Bound with a link to your blog. Those red shoes are priceless, and look so comfortable.


Leave a Reply

