February 11, 2008

Your dogs are cute, but…What about my cat?!

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:54 pm by Jess

On a fairly frequent basis I run across a wedding photo of someone’s dog. Sometimes the dog is walking down the aisle with the couple, on a leash. Often s/he is wearing an outfit – a top hat, a little doggie tux. It’s all really pretty cute, and a nice way to incorporate one of the most important family members – because that is what your pet is, right?  So here’s my thing. We have a cat. And I love him. I love him just as much as you love your dog. But I cannot walk my cat down the aisle on a leash. Well, I could put the leash on, but then I’d probably strain a neck muscle dragging him down the aisle behind me, and the music would be drowned out by his incessant howling (He has a very dramatic side…). Not to mention he’d try to eat the faux birds coming out of my DIY wreath. Oh wait, he already did that.

So here’s a question: How can someone incorporate cats into a wedding? Please feel free to leave comments if you have any ideas. Here are mine:

~Some people may not want to rely on word-of-mouth for getting the information out about their Registry. You could order postcards, custom designed from a chic and snazzy invitation company like Ink and Wit, then have the postcard text come from the cat – personifying the cat – with tactful but helpful information.This is my sad attempt to be humorous, bear with me…

“This is Teaspoon. You may know my pets, Jessica and Jonathan. They are really great pets, but they are getting a little too close for comfort.  Don’t worry. I’ve talked to them and let them know that it is time to upgrade: I need more space, and I’m thinking that my meals should come from a slowcooker from now on. So, here is the information for their registry and for the slow cooker. (I’d buy them everything, but they never play with what I bring them!) I invite you to have a look. I must go back to my beauty rest now.”

Imagine this but with a modern cat graphic.

~Everybody needs a notebook. Everybody. Some of us need four (the number I have sitting in front of me, piled in order of priority). Give these notebooks and/or these magnets as favors, and support etsy artists at the same time.

Etsy Listing HERE 

Etsy Listing HERE 

~If you can handle funky vibrant colors at your wedding, grab one of these prints. Rather, grab many. Frame them in cheap white IKEA frames and set them to rest behind the drinks at the bar, or sporadically placed behind the food.

Cat-tastic Etsy Prints here  

~Table Numbers: Buy your kitty something adorable to wear, like a little top hat and bow (in a color that matches your wedding). Take your cat’s photo in his outfit. Clean up the photo in Picase or Photoshop.  You could even add a word bubble, along with the Table Number, large enough to be visible and striking. Have that photo printed out into a 5X7 size, then frame it in a simple frame and put one on each table.

What I won’t suggest you do is to buy your kitty accessories and then choke him or her with it, which is exactly what looks to be going on in this photo.   I’m still undecided on the issue of dressing up animals period, but choking one with a giant red bow-tie while you snap the perfect shot, definitely a No. That poor cat, honestly.

~Finally, hire a custom cake-topper designer to design one that incorporates your cat. Like this, but with a cat!

tavarestopper1.jpg

Cake topper from Thumbprintkids.com 

 ~If you seriously doubt that your cat could be present at the wedding, or you just have no interest in a cat-related theme, but you still want to include your animal best friend, consider having a few of your engagement photos done with the cat(s) in them.

What are your ideas?

2 Comments »

  1. Zoe said,

    Hey delurker! It’s so lovely when people delurk!!!

    thanks so much for the cat print mention!

    So when exactly is the big day? I wish I’d found your blog when I was getting married.

    Z x

  2. What about carrying him down the aisle (maybe one of the groomsmen could hold him, or flower girls?). It sounds a little crazy but it just might work!


Leave a Reply

