February 8, 2008

Planning: Necessary for Planning

Posted in Budget Friendly Ideas, Planning Your Own Wedding: Step by Step at 4:04 pm by Jess

The very first thing that I did when I realized I had an entire wedding to plan, was buy a Blank Book and an Accordion File. Just about every person who has done a wedding would recommend that you buy an accordion file for your wedding. They ain’t lying. You spend hours looking through Bridal Magazines, researching online, and then you have this big stack of messy papers to deal with. Or, you could file them away tidily in separate pockets for separate issues. Mine happens to go chronologically, starting with Hair and Makeup Ideas, and ending with the stack of Miscellaneous Ideas that I would like to do, which are filed under “If I have any budget left…”

red.jpg

The Paper Source has this red Accordion file for 36.00USD. Very practical, but a little steep for a folder on my budget.

accordion.jpg

I went to a local crafting/scrapbooking store and found the “Accordion Album Kit.” You are intended to cover it with your own hand-picked papers. This is a great option if you wan to pick a pretty paper that goes along with your color scheme. Personally, Color Schemes and I have an ongoing battle, so I left the file Cardboard, labeled them in Black Marker (very unchic, and yet oh-so un-distracting to the eye) and tied it all up with a huge ribbon in a base color that I liked.

Total cost: 7USD

If this is too plain for you, Thoughtful Day has already posted a nice assortment of different Accordions.

I am less of a paper collector and more of a list maker. I knew that lists would be critical so I went to Barnes and Noble and spent a good hour looking through their journal and Blank Book section (a favorite past time of mine, wedding or not). I finally selected a hardcover book with large pages so that I could sketch out ideas and even paste in invitation ideas, and strips of ribbon. It also has perforated edges, in case things get messy and I want to tear something out. My only complaint is that I wish I had gotten something spiral bound. A normal spiral sketchbook would work, and you could certainly cover the outside.

book.jpg

I found this pretty sketchbook by BlowfishDesign on Etsy.

mybk-2.jpg

Here my cat shows off my book, purchased at Barnes and Noble.

mybk.jpg

Here you can see that I pasted in examples of invitations that I picked from all over the web. I was able to see clearly what styles I liked (not having a favorite color means less focus on color, more on style for me) and what some of the consistencies were.

The book is also where I sketch out plans, and keep all my lists, including the Brain Dump.

1 Comment »

  1. […] planning your own wedding, or a friend’s wedding, I recommend that, after preparing yourself accordingly (sorry, had to drop the pun)*, you do the Brain […]


Leave a Reply

