February 7, 2008

Bonjour Mes Amies

Posted in About this Blog at 7:25 pm by Jess

Welcome to my new blog, Weddings Start to Finish.

Before I tell you about this wedding blog, let me start by telling you a bit about the author. I am a 26 year old Aries, living in Switzerland. I have lived in a few other countries, but I mainly grew up as a Midwestern Girl with Texan roots.

Before falling for a European man, I worked a 9-to-5 job that was actually more like, well, 8-to-10. It was rough. The one bright side to every single day was the work I did with the company’s Event Planner, working as her assistant for certain projects, and planning and producing my first event. It was a Christmas party for needy children. There was nothing over-the-top, and the budget was something like 1,000 dollars. And yet, the stress was incredible.

I discovered an odd thing. My “important” day-job bored me. I got a high, truly, off of the stress of helping with these events. I already knew that I was a list junkie, but turns out there was a place to put those list-making skills to work.

But then I quit my job. I moved to Switzerland. I have lived here for two years now, loving my boyfriend, loving the food, but wondering what happened to that spark I used to have. Last fall, the boyfriend proposed. It took about 24 hours. And oh, about 8 a.m. the next morning, over a café au lait (I still drink skim, even here thankyouverymuch) and a croissant, I started to make a list for the wedding.

That list scared me. Wow it was long.

And I looked at that list, and thought “Yes!” This is where its at. I dig the stress people, sick but true.

So, a little randomness about me, just to get more intimate:

I love chili, but mine mixes beef and beans (Gasp, don’t tell the Texans in my family). I like to eat cheese with dark chocolate. I don’t have a favorite color. I live amongst the Alps: I don’t ski, snowboard or embrace the cold. Taco Bell is one of my favorite foods. So is this cheese, which is just more fun than most cheeses, scallops in black truffle shavings and fresh raspberry jam. I once stopped my car from careening over a cliff, only to hit another car and get a ticket for “Driving with inadequate brakes.” My best friend has a number in her name. I never liked birds, not before they got trendy, not now. I’m slightly anal about my piling system, and I am extremely direct.

So there you go. Is there anything you want to know?

1 Comment »

  1. hi there and welcome! so happy to find you via your comment on an excited bride. it sounds like we’re all going to love hearing your lists, planning tips, and progress!


Leave a Reply

